Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

SOE Featured Faculty

Oct. 30, 2016 –

Dr. Carol Mullen,Professor of Educational Leadership (on the left), receiving the 2016 Charles E. Clear Research Award from Virginia Educational Research Association (VERA) on September 16, 2016 at the awards ceremony in Charlottesville; Research Committee Chair Dr. Jillian Wendt (on the right).


Congratulations to Dr. Serna on his published paper for the National Commission on Financing 21st Century Higher Education entitled "The Federal Role in Financing 21st Century Higher Education: Effectiveness, Issues, and Alternatives"! Read more

Congratulations to Dr. Amy Azano on receiving a curriculum award from the National Association for Gifted Children for the language arts unit, "Aristotle’s Rhetoric: Learning the Art of Persuasion," from her book "Research and Rhetoric"!

Congratulations to Erika Nicholas, PhD student fellow to Dr. Amy Azano in English education, for receiving a VT Center for Autism Research student award!


Thinkabit Lab opening in National Capital Region

Virginia Tech’s Department of Engineering Education in the College of Engineering and School of Education in the College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences and Qualcomm Inc. begin a multiyear collaboration this fall with the launch of the Qualcomm Thinkabit Lab at Virginia Tech's Northern Virginia Center to bring hands-on STEM learning to students and training to teachers. Read more

Elsa Camargo, a doctoral candidate in the Higher Education Program, received the Southern Regional Education Board Dissertation Fellowship. This is a one-year fellowship that includes a 20,000 stipend from SREB and up to a year of tuition support from Virginia Tech. Congratulations, Elsa!

Dr. Carol Mullen, Educational Leadership Professor, received the 2016 Jay D. Scribner Mentoring Award from the University Council for Educational Administration (UCEA). Big Congratulations, Carol!

Dr. Carol Mullen, Educational Leadership Professor, is a Catalyst Faculty Fellow, accepted into VT’s 2016 Program of Catalyst Faculty Fellows. This initiative’s sponsors are the Institute for Creativity, Arts, and Technology, the Apex Systems Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship, and the Office of the Vice President for Research and Innovation. Congratulations, Carol!

Brett Jones, professor of educational psychology program, received 2016 Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Award. Congratulations, Brett! Read more

Congratulations to Dr. Gabriel Serna, assistant professor of Higher Education on the publication of two new books: 1) Higher Education, Fiscal Administration, and Budgeting, 2) Practical Strategies for Applied Budgeting and Fiscal Administration