News & Events

ParticipantsThe Southwest Virginia Professional Education Consortium, formerly SWVA Clinical Faculty Consortium, was developed in 1998 to formalize the collaboration between K-12 schools in the New River and Roanoke Valleys and the regional institutions of higher education. The purpose of the consortium is to enhance preparation and continuing teacher education. The project is funded by the Virginia Department of Education.

Our Goals

The overarching purpose of the consortium is to develop strong partnerships between the institutions, schools, and school divisions that will enable us to reach the following goals:

  1. Work collaboratively to create a supportive environment for the preparation and induction of new teachers into the school community.
  2. Develop and nurture a cadre of teacher leaders who are exemplary models of effective teaching and strong clinical faculty/mentors for pre-service and beginning teachers.
  3. Facilitate greater cooperation and communication among consortium members.
  4. Create a community of inquiry into learning to teach and the development of school/university cultures that promote life-long learning for all members of the professional education community.
  5. Support school/university research-based initiatives that promote student learning and well-being.


The project is funded by the Virginia Department of Education, in collaboration with the four Southwest Virginia higher education institutions: Hollins University, Radford University, Roanoke College, and Virginia Tech. The ten P-12 public school districts include: