Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Meet Our Faculty

The secret behind our supportive environment is our people. Our faculty know students by name, know their successes and struggles and the many opportunities that await them in the future. Although our backgrounds and areas of specialization may vary, we all share one thing in common: we want great things for our students!

Our faculty represent an internationally recognized group of researchers and practitioners. All are committed to the advancement of Learning Sciences and Technologies through research, publication, and service at the local, national, and international levels.

Dr. Jennifer Brill

    Dr. Brill
Associate Professor [Bio]
Program Leader, Instructional Design and Technology
300B War Memorial Hall
Phone: 540-231-8328
Email:
jennifer.brill@vt.edu

Dr. John Burton

    Burton
Professor [Bio]
Director of the Center for Instructional Technology Solutions in Industry and Education (CITSIE)
144J Smyth Hall
Phone: 540-231-7020
Email:
jburton@vt.edu

 

Dr. Jim Garrison

    Garrison
Program Leader [Bio]
Foundations of Education
400B War Memorial Hall (0313)
Phone: 540-231-8331
Email:
wesley@vt.edu

Dr. Brett Jones

    Jones
Professor [Bio]
Program Leader, Educational Psychology
319 War Memorial Hall
Phone: 540-231-1880
Email: 
brettjones@vt.edu

Dr. Ken Potter

    Dr. Potter
Clinical Assistant Professor [Bio]
114 War Memorial Hall
Phone: 540-231-5587
Email:
kpotter@vt.edu

Dr. Katherine S. Cennamo

    Dr Cennamo
Professor [Bio]
Chair, Learning Sciences and Technologies
201 War Memorial Hall
Phone: 540-231-9122
Email:
cennamo@vt.edu

Dr. Peter Doolittle

    Doolittle
Professor [Bio]
Assistant Provost for Teaching and Learning
Executive Director of the Center for Instructional Development and Educational Research (CIDER)
111 Hillcrest Hall
Phone: 540-231-6823
Email: 
pdoo@vt.edu

Dr. Barbara B. Lockee

    Lockee
Professor [Bio]
Associate Director, Educational Outreach and Research
115 War Memorial Hall
Phone: 540-231-9193
Email:
lockeebb@vt.edu

Dr. Susan Magliaro

    Magliaro
Professor [Bio]
Director, STEM program
226 War Memorial Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone: 540-231-1802
Email: 
sumags@vt.edu

Dr. Joycelyn Wilson

    Wilson_table
Assistant Professor [Bio]
316 War Memorial Hall
Phone: 540-231-0399
Email:
drjoyce@vt.edu

Dr. Lujean Baab

    baab
Senior Director [Bio]
Networked Learning Design and Strategies (NLDS) for Technology-enhanced Learning and Online Strategies
Email:
lbaab@vt.edu

Dr. Liesl Michele Baum

    baum
Research Assistant Professor [Bio]
Senior Fellow, Institute for Creativity, Arts, and Technology
Email:
lmbaum@vt.edu

Mike Goforth, MS, ATC/LAT

    Goforth
Associate Athletics Director, Head Football Athletic Trainer [Bio]
Email:
Ab8631@vt.edu

Dr. Serge F. Hein

    Hein
Associate Professor [Bio]
Education, Educational Research and Evaluation
Email:
shein@vt.edu

Dr. Kathryne McConnell

    McConnell
Assistant Director [Bio]
Hillcrest Hall, Room 124
Email:
540-231-7534

Dr. Jesse Wilkins

    wilkins
Professor [Bio]
Department of Teaching and Learning
Mathematics Program Leader
K-8 Mathematics Specialist Program Leader
Email:
wilkins@vt.edu

Dr. David Hicks

   

David_Hicks

Associate Professor [Bio]
Department of Teaching and Learning
History and Social Science Education
Email: hicks@vt.edu

Dr. Mary Ellen Pierson

   

Mary_Ellen_Pierson

Adjunct Faculty [Bio]
Instructional Technology Masters' of Arts Program
Email:
mep@vt.edu 

Dr. Mark Aaron Bond

    bond
Director [Bio]
Networked Learning and Design Strategies for Technology-enhanced Learning and Online Strategies
Email:
mabond@vt.edu

Dr. Mike Gentry

    gentry
Associate Athletic Director [Bio]
Athletic Performance
Email:
gentry@vt.edu

Dr. Monica Kimbrell

    Kimbrell
Director [Bio]
Student Recruitment and Career Development
College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences
Email:
mkimbrell@vt.edu

Dr. Danielle Lusk

    Lusk
Assistant Director [Bio]
Center for Instructional Development and Educational Research (CIDER)
Email:
dlusk@vt.edu

Dr. Phyllis Newbill

    Newbill
Studio Associate [Bio]
Outreach and Engagement, ICAT
Email:
pnewbill@vt.edu

Dr. Todd Ogle

    Dr. Jeffrey Ogle
Senior Director [Bio]
Networked Knowledge Environments
Technology-enhanced Learning and Online Strategies
Email:
jogle@vt.edu

Dr. Diana Wu

   

hokie

Assistant Director [Bio]
Office of Instructional Technology
Email:
dianawu@vt.edu

Dr. Jacob Grobs

   

Jacob_Grohs

Assistant Professor [Bio]
Department of Engineering Education
Email:
jrgrohs@vt.edu